The MPGC is organised in several committees and boards of which some are responsible for student admission, decision making and organisation in the MPGC (Steering Committee, Joint Board, Shareholder Assembly) while others (Coordination GmbH, Doctoral Advisory Boards) support and accompany the doctoral students in their day-to-day life in research and education.

The scheme below demonstrates the interaction of these bodies. Some extra information on each of them is available below.


The administration of the MPGC is organised in a limited liability company (German: Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung = GmbH). It has its own budget for administrative purposes while the doctoral students are employed and administered by the University or the Max Planck Institutes.

Managing director, coordinators and secretaries of the GmbH each have a different task within the MPGC administration. All have experience in administration processes related to University and doctoral studies issues and are familiar with processes in the Max Planck Institutes or the University administration.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee holds the scientific supervision of the MPGC. It decides on admission to the MPGC in agreement with the Joint Board.

The SC shall decide whether candidates are

a) approved without reservation
b) approved with reservation
c) not approved

The speaker of the SC invites candidates who are approved with reservation to an interview.

Also the acceptance of supervisors and the arrangement of the supervision agreements is taking place in cooperation with the MPGC Steering Committee.

Shareholder assembly

Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz and Max-Planck-Gesellschaft e.V. are partners (shareholders) in the non-profit limited liability company called "Max Planck Graduate Center mit der Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität Mainz GmbH". The shareholder assembly decides on all economic and scientific issues of general importance, in particular on the management and the organisation of the financial control. Details are recorded in the constitution of the company.

Shareholder Representatives

The shareholders are represented in the shareholder assembly by three persons each from the Johannes Gutenberg-Universität and the Max Planck Society. The chair alternates between the shareholders.

Go to Editor View